Aetna Graduate Teaching Award

Call for Nominations: 2018 Aetna Teaching Award 
It’s once again time to nominate graduate instructors for the Aetna Graduate Student Teaching Award, which helps to recognize the dedicated and innovative work of graduate students who teach writing.

Please think about the graduate instructor(s) whose writing instruction impresses and inspires you. Send your nominations to us by email ( by Monday, March 5, 2018.

We will contact all nominees shortly afterward, and those who accept the nomination will begin assembling materials (syllabi, papers with comments, teaching philosophy, etc.)

The Aetna Graduate Teaching Award, sponsored by the Aetna Foundation, is usually given to one Storrs graduate teaching assistant each year.  The prize is typically awarded at the First-Year Writing Program’s annual Conference on the Teaching of Writing.   The nominees go through a rigorous evaluation process, including the assessment of their teaching philosophies, syllabi, assignments, classroom teaching, and student evaluations.

Previous Winners:

  • Dan Graham (2018)
  • Meghan Burns (2017)
  • Emma Burris-Janssen (2016)
  • Emily Tucker (2015)
  • George Moore (2014)
  • Christina Henderson (2013)
  • Abbye Meyer (2012)
  • Amanda Smith (2011)
  • Rebecca Nisetich (2010)
  • Mary Elizabeth Lough (2009)
  • Sarah Rasher (2008)
  • Jon Kotchian (2007)
  • Katie Peel (2006)
  • Aaron Bremyer, Ken Cormier, Anita Duneer, and Andy Pfrenger (2005)
  • Peter Sinclair (2004)
  • Joshua Masters (2002)
  • Nancy Knowles (1999)