Aetna Graduate Writing Award

The Aetna Graduate Writing Award, sponsored by the Aetna Chair of Writing, is an award for excellent critical nonfiction composed by a graduate student. Winners are awarded cash prizes and read from their work at the Aetna Celebration of Student Writing.

Submit to the Aetna Graduate Writing Prize
Who’s Eligible

  • Any currently enrolled UConn graduate student, in any department.

What’s Eligible

  • Any unpublished critical essay written for a course or independently. Dissertation chapters (or partial chapters) may be submitted. The essay may be under editorial review but, if accepted for publication, must be withdrawn from the contest.
  • Only ONE essay per student may be submitted in a given year.

Submission Criteria

  • Submit an electronic copy of your essay, with a single cover sheet identifying your name, address, email address, phone number.
  • NO identifying information should appear anywhere else in the essay.
  • Put the title of the essay on both the cover sheet and the first page of the essay

Who Receives It

Deadline: March 19, 2018

Past Recipients

  • First Place: Daniel Graham, “More Wonderful Than ‘Table-Turning’ Ever Was: Spiritualism, Counterfeit, and the Commodity Fetish after the American Civil War” (Instructor: Chris Vials)
  • Honorable Mention: Kerry Carnahan, “‘Which one I dey?’: Ordinariness, Lack, and the Language of Testimony in Saro-Wiwa’s Sozaboy” (Instructor: Eleni Coundouriotis)
  • First Place: Eleanor Reeds, “The Human Dimension of ‘Telegraphic Orders’: Agency and Communication in Ruiz de Burton’s Who Would Have Thought It?
  • First Place: Rachel Nolan, “‘tween alepha and beta I’: Crossing Lines of Difference with M. NourbeSe Philip’s Zong!
  • Second Place: Maria Seger, “The Ethics of Child Murder: Maternal Filicide and American Exceptionalism in Women’s Progressive Era Short Fiction”
  • Third Place (tie): Joseph Darda, “Antiwar Absolution in Joseph Hiller’s Vietnam”
  • Third Place (tie): Alexander Gatten, “Beyond the Ghost: Katherine Philips and the Queerness of Close Reading”
  • Honorable Mention: Emma Burris-Janssen, “Violating Viola: Re-Membering Female Agency in Mona Carid’s ‘Marriage’ and The Wing of Azrael
  • First Place (tie): Joseph Darda, “Airport Memory: Recalling Vietnam from the Terminal in Andrew Pham’s Travel Writing”
  • First Place (tie): Jorge Santos, “Movement through the Borderlands: Graphic Revisions in Pablo’s Inferno
  • Third Place: Chad Jewett, “The Stuff Bores Me: Resistant Consumption and ‘The Culture Industry’ in J. D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye
  • Honorable Mention: Alaina Kaus, “Liberalities of Feeling: Free Market Subjectivities in Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin
  • First Place: Maria Seger, “Ekphrasis and the Postmodern Slave Narrative: Reading the Maps of Edward P. Jones’s The Known World
  • Second Place: Emily Dolan, “Louisa May Alcott’s Behind a Mask and the Unrepentant Fallen Woman”
  • Third Place: Mary Isbell, “Not Simply Objects of Ridicule: Amateur Theatricals in Mansfield Park, Villette, and Daniel Deronda
  • First Place: Jeremy DeAngelo, “Walls of Troy, Walls of Asgaro: A Connection Between Snorri Sturluson’s Gylfaginning and Ovid’s Metamorphoses
  • Second Place: Leah Schwebel, “Redressing Griselda: Restoration Through Translation in Clerk’s Tale
  • Third Place: Pamela Swanigan, “Music as Facing-Page Translation in Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo+Juliet
  • Honorable Mention: Christiana Salah, “The Actress and the Governess: Sensation Fiction’s Spectrum of Female Identity”
  • Honorable Mention: Joanna Huckins, “Eald is bes eorosele: The Ancestral Landscape of The Wife’s Lament
  • Honorable Mention: Laila Khan, “Shell-shock and the Sublime: Re-writing Trauma Narrative in Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway
  • Honorable Mention:  Amber West, “Making a Troublemaker: Charlotte Charke’s Proto-Feminist Puppetry”
  • First Place: Pamela Longo
  • Second Place (tie): Brandon Hawk
  • Second Place (tie): Tara Harney
  • Fourth Place: Jeremy DeAngelo
  • Honorable Mention: Amanda Smith
  • Honorable Mention: Christina Henderson
  • First Place: Lindy Brady, “Echoes of a Celtic Fenland Frontier in the Old English Andreas
  • Second Place: Patricia Taylor, “Criminal Appropriations of Shakespeare in Jasper Fforde’s Something Rotten
  • Third Place: Mandy Suhr-Sytsma, “In the Light of Reverence: American Legal Rights and Indigenous Responsibility”
  • Honorable Mention: Tara Harney, “Meditations on the Tyranny of the ‘Too Easy’ Fall”
  • First Place: Kisha Tracy, “Chaucerian Romance and the Temporality of Confession”
  • Second Place: Emily Wojcik, “A True Picture of Real Life: Tabitha Teeney’s Female Quixotism and the Emergent Realist Novel”
  • Third Place: Emily Dolan, “Portland, Maine: A Literary City”