Brenda Brueggemann, the Aetna Chair of Writing, photographed Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at the UConn Foundation in Storrs. (G.J. McCarthy / UConn Foundation)
Brenda Brueggemann, Aetna Chair of Writing

Established in the 1980s, the Aetna Chair of Writing draws from the Aetna Life and Casualty Foundation’s Aetna Endowment to initiate, enhance, and otherwise further University of Connecticut writing programs. Aetna funds support many initiatives, including:

    • The Writing Center
    • The Connecticut Writing Project
    • First-Year Writing’s Annual Conference on the Teaching of Writing
    • Long River Review, the university’s literary journal
    • Poetic Journeys, an on-campus literary poster project
    • Aetna writers-in-residence, who give readings and work with students in one-on-one tutorials
    • The Aetna Writing Prizes
    • The Aetna Celebration of Student Writing
    • Avery Point writing retreats
    • Graduate research and travel grants
    • A host of visiting authors, speakers, and teachers
    • And more …

Watch The Aetna Advisory Board Speak on the Benefits of the Aetna Chair

Current and Past Aetna Chairs

The current Aetna Chair of Writing is Brenda Jo Brueggemann. You can contact her by email at brenda.brueggemann@uconn.edu or by mail at the following address:

University of Connecticut
Department of English
215 Glenbrook Road, U-4025
Storrs, CT 06269-4025

Previously, Lynn Z. Bloom served as the Aetna Chair of Writing.

Selected Recent Publications and Presentation Materials